Parliament Votes on Universities’ Transfer

Parliament has approved the transfer of several universities from the state to private foundations, paving the way for 70% of students to pursue their studies under the new model from this autumn.

The cardinal law submitted by Minister of Innovation and Technology László Palkovics received 134 votes in support and 59 votes against. The law on public interest asset management foundations lists a total of 32 foundations, of which 21 will be in charge of running higher education institutions.

The universities of Szeged, Dunaújváros, Pécs, Nyíregyháza and Debrecen, the Hungarian Dance Academy, the newly formed Tokaj-Hegyalja University, the Budapest University of Economics, the University of Physical Education, Semmelweis University and Rudolf Kalman University of Óbuda will be run by foundations. Five additional foundations have been set up for additional purposes, and the Eszterházy Károly University of Eger will be transferred to the Catholic Church.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *